Bylaws Committee

Section 5.07. Bylaws Committee.  The Bylaws Committee shall consist of a chairperson and at least three (3) other directors, all appointed by the President.  The President shall serve ex-officio on this committee and will vote on change proposals only in the event of a tie.  This committee will convene at least once annually or as often as needed for the purpose of reviewing the Bylaws, Articles of Incorporation and Welfare and Institutions Code to confirm whether or not changes are required to sustain compliance with California Corporate Law, Statutory requirements and to meet the needs of the Board of Directors. It is the responsibility of the Bylaws Committee to receive feedback from informed professionals (including VMRC management, community leaders, legal counselor, parliamentarian, etc. depending on the issues).

Committee Members: Lynda Mendoza (Chair), Candice Bright (CLASP member), Tom Toomey, Elizabeth Victor-Martinez, Margaret Heinz, Ex-Officio and Board President

Staff Members:  Tony Anderson, Executive Director, Doug Bonnet, Assistant to the Executive Director, Christine Couch, Compliance Manager

The committee completed its work and has submitted the amended Bylaws for approval at the during the October 9, 2018 board of directors meeting.  The board had 60 days to review and it approved the new bylaws on December 10, 2018. The Bylaws will continue to be reviewed by the committee at least annually.

Additional Resources

Current Bylaws: December 2018 (Signed)

Bylaws Committee Archive Page